fbpx

Censo De Mayo

  • Share:
  •  
Name: Censo De Mayo
Date: May 5, 2020 - May 6, 2020
Website: Facebook Live
Event Description:
To celebrate “Censo De Mayo,” leaders of the nation’s top Latino civic engagement organizations and Comcast NBCUniversal Telemundo are coming together for a special Spanish virtual town hall aimed at promoting a full and accurate count of the Latino community in the 2020 Census on Tuesday, May 5, 2020.  Following these remarks, there will be a Q&A opportunity for participating media and community members.
 
Guests:
  • Juan Cartagena - President and General Counsel, LatinoJustice PRLDEF
  • Andrea Senteno – Regional Counsel, Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF)
  • Martha Bárcena - Mexican Ambassador to the United States
  • Héctor Sánchez Barba – Executive Director and CEO, Mi Familia Vota
  • Arturo Vargas – Chief Executive Officer, NALEO Educational Fund
  • Lizette Escobedo – Director of National Census Program, NALEO Educational Fund
  • Luis Rosero - Vice President of Corporate and External Affairs, Comcast NBCUniversal Telemundo
 
WHY
To address a void in access to accurate and timely census information in Spanish, NALEO Educational Fund and partners will host a virtual Facebook Town Hall on May 5, 2020.
 
The “Censo de Mayo” Town Hall will feature a number of Spanish-speaking Latino census experts who will discuss the latest developments around census operations, the impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) on the enumeration process, and the importance of self-response in the wake of the public health crisis.  Experts will also address concerns regarding data privacy and security, as well as ongoing confusion around the Race and Hispanic Origin questions.
Location:
Date/Time Information:
WHEN
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 – 2:00 p.m. ET/ 1:00 p.m. CT/ 11:00 a.m. PT
Set a Reminder:
Enter your email address below to receive a reminder message.